This event is endorsed
and organized by

5th International Conference on Personal Satellite Services

June 27–28, 2013 | Toulouse, France


A complete pdf version of the call can be found here .

Technology advances in communications together with changes in the regulatory framework are paving the way for next generation satellite systems. Broadband on the move, improved spectrum efficiency, flexible payloads are the keywords. These evolutions foster advances both for the end-users and the satellite operators, yielding opportunities for new value added services including those that blur the frontiers between Earth observation, telecommunications and positioning. The legacy role of satellite communication as bearer of broadband and broadcast services is also confirmed as the need for global multimedia distribution rises.

In addition to that, the gap between terrestrial and the so-called space communication technologies is getting narrower. The space segment is now the natural bridge among heterogeneous networks provided flexible capacity wherever and whenever needed.

The Personal SATellite Service conference, confirms through its 5th edition that there is a need for a scientific forum where these evolutions are prepared. The conference provides a multifaceted floor for technology and networking where all R&D actors including academic and industrial researchers, practitioners and students can meet and discuss.

Technical tracks:

General Tracks:

  • Satellite antenna designs, modulation and coding
  • Synchronization, equalization and channel estimation
  • Channel modelling for satellite communications
  • MIMO communications for satellites
  • Interference detection and mitigation techniques
  • DVB and broadband access technologies
  • Networking topologies for broadband over satellite links
  • IP over satellite and QoS support
  • Reliable multicast protocols, transport protocol over satellite
  • Onboard switching and processing delay tolerant networking
  • Radio resource management and packet scheduling
  • Power control, hand-over issues and call admission control
  • Emerging standardizations and issues
  • Satellite navigation systems, services and tracking
  • Real-time multimedia streaming, broadcast/multicasting
  • QoS and RRM in the integrated satellite-WSN architecture
  • Security related issues of satellite communications

Value added services and future systems:

  • Voice, broadband Internet, positioning
  • IPTV, DVB,…
  • Infrastructure and network management
  • IP over satellite and heterogeneous networks
  • Quality of Service (QoS) issues
  • Ka-band and emerging frequency bands
  • Earth observation
  • Emergency service assistance

Convergence of Satellite System and Emerging Technologies:

  • Convergence with Terrestrial, Wireless Access, and Sensor Networks
  • Cooperative/distributed network architectures
  • Quantum satellite communications
  • Convergence with optical networks

Special sessions:

  • S1 Satellite for Emergency Communications (Session Chair: Laurent Franck, Telecom Bretagne)
  • S2 Satellites for Aeronautical Communications (Session Chair: Mathieu Gineste, Thales Alenia Space)
  • S3 Satellite for Content Distribution and DTN (Session Chair: to be announced)
  • S4 Satellite systems air interface (Session Chair: Marie-Laure Boucheret, IRIT-ENSEEIHT)
  • S5 Convergence with Terrestrial, Wireless Access, and Sensor Networks (Session Chair: To be announced)

Instructions for papers

Regular and invited papers are allowed up to 12 pages, including all figures, tables and references. Papers must be formatted using Springer LNICST Authors' Kit. The paper submission system is now open. Please visit for more details on submission guidelines.

Accepted papers will be published in Springer's LNICST series and will appear in the SpringerLink, one of the largest digital libraries online that covers a variety of scientific disciplines, as well as in the ICST's own EU Digital Library (EUDL). LNICST volumes are submitted for inclusion to leading indexing services, including DBLP, Google Scholar, ACM Digital Library, ISI Proceedings, EI Engineering Index, CrossRef, Scopus.

Important Dates

  • Deadline for Paper Submission: 1st February 2013
  • Paper Acceptance: 1st March 2013
  • Camera Ready Paper: 15th April 2013

Organising Committee

General Chairs

  • Dr Riadh Dhaou (IRIT-ENSEEIHT, France)
  • Prof André-Luc Beylot (IRIT-ENSEEIHT, France)

TPC Chairs

  • Dr Marie-Josée Montpetit (Cambridge MA, USA)
  • Dr Daniel Lucani (Instituto de Telecommunicacoes Porto, Portugal)

Steering Committee

  • Prof Imrich Chlamtac (Create-Net, Italy)
  • Dr Kandeepan Sithamparanathan (RMIT, Australia)
  • Mr Agnelli Stefano (ESOA/Eutelsat, France)
  • Prof Mario Marchese (University of Genoa, Italy)

Advisory Committee

  • Dr Giovanni Giambene (University of Siena, Italy)
  • Prof Fun Hu (University of Bradford, UK)
  • Dr Vinod Kumar (Alcatel-Lucent, France)

Industrial Chair

  • Mme Isabelle Buret (Thales Alenia Space, France)

Publicity Chair

  • Prof Laurent Franck (Télécom Bretagne, Institut Mines Télécom, France)

Demos and Tutorial Chairs

  • Emmanuel Dubois (CNES, France)
  • Fabrice Arnal (Thales Alenia Space, France)

Publications Chair

  • Dr Lorenzo Mucchi (University of Florence, Italy)

Local Organising Chairs

  • Dr Emmanuel Chaput (IRIT-ENSEEIHT, France)

Conference Coordinators

  • Ms Erica Polini (EAI, Italy)

Website Chair

  • Dr Julien Fasson (IRIT-ENSEEIHT, France)

Technical Program Committee

  • Dr Roberto Di Pietro (University of Rome, Italy)
  • Prof Gorry Fairhurst (University of Aberdeen, UK)
  • Dr Anand Prasad (NEC Corporation, Japan)
  • Prof Carlo Caini (University of Bologna, Italy)
  • Dr Matteo Berioli (German Aerospace Center (DLR), Germany)
  • Dr Alberto Gotta (ISTI-CNR, Italy)
  • Dr Raffeallo Secchi (University of Aberdeen, UK)
  • Prof Laurent Franck (Télécom Bretagne Institut Mines-Télécom, France)
  • Prof Franco Davoli (CNIT, Italy)
  • Dr Paolo Barsocchi (ISTI-CNR, Italy)
  • Dr Petia Todorova (Fraunhofer Institut FOKUS, Germany)
  • Dr Carles Fernandez-Prades (CTTC, Spain)
  • Dr Gabriele Oligeri (ISTI-CNR, Italy)
  • Dr Ajay Kulkarni (Cisco Systems, USA)
  • Dr Marco Cello (University of Genoa, Italy)
  • Dr Alexey Vinel (SPIIRAS, Russia)
  • Prof Fabio Dovis (Politecnico di Torino, Italy)
  • Prof Igor Kotenko (SPIIRAS, Russia)
  • Dr Alban Duverdier (CNES, France)
  • Dr Cesare Roseti (University of Rome, Italy)
  • Dr Anton Donner (German Aerospace Center (DLR), Germany)
  • Dr Bernhard Collini-Nocker (University of Salzburg, Austria)
  • Prof Fun Hu (University of Bradford, UK)
  • Dr Athanasios Panagopoulos (ICCS-NTUA, Greece)
  • Dr Nedo Celandroni (ISTI-CNR, Italy)
  • Prof Michele Luglio (University of Roma2, Italy)
  • Dr Haitham Cruickshank (University of Surrey, UK)
  • Prof Maria Luisa Merani (University of Modena & Reggio Emilia, Italy)
  • Dr Philip A. Dafesh (The Aerospace Corporation, USA)
  • Prof. Muriel Medard (Cambridge MA, USA)
  • Dr. Daniel Lucani (Instituto de Telecommunicacoes Porto, Portugal)
  • Dr Jose Radzik (ISAE, France)
  • Prof Thierry Gayraud (Université de Toulouse/LAAS, France)
  • Dr Vincent Deslandes (EADS-Astrium, France)